Euro 2021 Song ‘We Are The People We’ve Been Waiting’ Set To Release on 14th May 

U2 & Martin Garrix
U2 & Martin Garrix

The Irish rock icons U2 have teamed up with Dutch DJ Martin Garrix to record the official song for Euro 2020. The track titled ‘We Are The People We’ve Been Waiting’ is currently recorded in London and is set to release on 14th May 2021.

According to a report by The Sun, Bono and Edge, the members of U2 are in London to record the video alongside Martin Garrix. 

Martin Garrix was officially honored to create a track for the Euro 2020 in October 2019. But due to the pandemic, the tournament was postponed by a year, thus the process of the Euro 2020 theme song also got postponed.

The official theme songs of Euro or FIFA tournaments are always a topic of discussion among fans. There we many posts on social media on when and who will release the Euro official theme song.

Check out the list of all Euro Theme Songs (1992-2020)

Martin Garrix Makes Official Announcement

The official announcement was made by Martin Garrix himself via Twitter. Martin uploaded a photo alongside Bono and Edge and tweeted, “We Are The People We’ve Been Waiting For w/ Bono & The Edge – May 14th! #euro2020”.

The source close to the music team said in a statement,

Martin adores football so this opportunity was ­massive for him, which is why he aimed for the very top when looking for collaborators. He has spent months and months working on this song to make it perfect and once Bono and The Edge were on board, it hit new heights. They have spoken quite a few times and are in London at the moment working on the video. They can’t wait to get it out there for everyone to listen to really soon.

The postponed Euro 2021 championships are scheduled to kick off on 11th June with Italy hosting Turkey in the Euro 2021 opener.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *